Heading Into The New Year

2023 was rewarding in some ways and very challenging in many others. I carry both the rewards and the challenges with me into the new year. In many ways it seems it has been one long year since 2020, with all the months blending into one too long period. However, forever the sucker for the symbolism of the year closing and new chapters beginning I find myself waxing on the year we are leaving behind and the one ahead.  

Despite some of the more challenging circumstances of the year, I find myself on the right path moving forward, focusing on my mental, spiritual, and physical fitness. After all, I finally find myself in a regular meditation practice again and focusing on repairing myself inside and out to be of better service to myself and those around me. 

Yes, I want to push further and grind harder in the new year, but I want to appreciate the little moments of magic as well, be mindful and thankful for the life I have. I sorely and urgently want to refocus and prioritize my creative side, literary wise and sound wise. I have neglected the muse far too long this year and paid the price mentally. 

And if I were to make a resolution, it would simply be not to let the factory stuff and the money stuff consume me. Other than that, I simply want to forge ahead on this path. 

However, the most arduous part of the new year for me is maintain that enthusiastic fervor beyond January. Each year I am little more successful at it, maybe its age, or dare I say… wisdom. Going forward, it’s going to be the nurturing the discipline to keep this mindset regardless of circumstance. 

2023 was difficult with job and money stuff, letting it eat me up and kill me in many ways, creatively being one of them. I can no longer let these things mold me.  After all, the happy, hairy Zen weirdo meditating in the park joyfully is the same person scowling in the factory. The only thing that changes is mind. That peace is always inside of me. So is that anger. Which seeds do I water? Well, that is up to me.  

And me? I just want to be with my wife, write my little poems and make my moody noise. I want to travel a bit, do some poetry readings, meditate, run, workout, veg out, drink a bit, laugh a lot, not worry about money, play with my dogs, maybe tend a rock garden, paint, make bad collages. Watch sunrise, sunset. Live in the moment, every moment, even this one. 

Anyway, I hope there will be a lot more literary updates and publishing news this year. At the very least, there will be some more personal posts like these. Either way I hope you will give them a read.

Leave a comment